Nigerians looking good for CAF awards

Nigerians may not be in contention for the biggest CAF prize of the year – the African Player of the Year, but there appears hope for awards in other categories.
Following the list of nominees released by the continental body for other categories, Florence Omagbemi, who led the Super Falcons to their 10th Africa Women Cup of Nations title in Cameroon this month, was nominated for the coach of the year category. She faces stiff competition from CAF Champions League winner Pitso Mosimane of South Africa and Serbian Milutin Sredojevic who qualified Uganda for the Nations Cup for the first time in 39 years. Others include Congo DR coach Florent Ibenge and MO Bejaia coach Nacer Sandjak.
Arsenal and Super Eagles star Alex Iwobi is in the running for the Youth Player of the Year, while Manchester City ace Kelechi Iheanacho and Rio Olympics star Oghenekaro Etebo have been named in the Most Promising Talent category.
Super Falcons and Arsenal Ladies star Asisat Oshoala is in contention for the Woman Player of the Year, while the U-23 men’s team that won Bronze at the Rio Olympics will battle Uganda, Guinea-Bissau, Congo DR and Senegal for the national team of the year.
The Super Falcons are also in the running for the Women’s National Team of the Year award after extending their record of AWCON wins to ten out of a total of 12 editions of the competition.
COACH OF THE YEAR – Florence Omagbemi (Nigeria Women’s team), Milutin Sredojevic (Uganda), Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Nacer Sandjak (Mo Bejaia), Florent Ibenge (Congo DR)
YOUTH PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Alex Iwobi (Nigeria-Arsenal), Eric Ayiah (Ghana U-17), Franck Jessie (Cote d’Ivoire-Atalanta), Sandra Ansah (Ghana-Supreme Ladies), Sidiki Maiga (Mali U-17)
MOST PROMISING TALENT – Oghenekaro Etebo (Nigeria-CD Feirense, Feirense), Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria, Manchester City), Elia Meschack (Congo DR, TP Mazembe), Naby Keita (Guinea, RB Leipzig), Ramadan Sobhi (Egypt-Stoke City)
WOMAN PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria- Arsenal Ladies), Elizabeth Addo (Ghana-Kvarnsvedensik), Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon-Rossiyanka), Raissa Feudjio (Cameroon-Aland United), Janine Van Wyk (South Africa-JVW)
NATIONAL TEAM OF THE YEAR – Nigeria U-23, Uganda, Guinea Bissau, Congo DR, Senegal
REFEREE OF THE YEAR – Papa Gasama (Gambia), Grishea Gehead (Egypt), Malang Diedhiou (Senegal)
WOMEN’S NATIONAL TEAM OF THE YEAR – Cameroon, Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, Zimbabwe
CLUB OF THE YEAR – Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), MO Bejaia (Algeria), TP Mazembe (Congo DR), Zamalek (Egypt), Zesco United (Zambia)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.